2014 State Meet Wrap-Up

The 2014 state swim meet was a FAST meet! Iowa City West claimed their first-ever team title with seven event wins and a total of 205 points. Cedar Rapids Washington had persistent time drops through the day and claimed second with 136 points while West Des Moines Valley took third with 124 points. Our state meet produced 4 automatic All-American swims and 14 All-American consideration times.

The State Athlete of the Year award went to Iowa City West teammates. Co-Athlete of the Year winners went out to Aidan Keen winning gold in the 200 Free and 500 Free, while Mark McGlaughlin won the 50 Free and the 100 Free. Lewis Central’s RJ Hemmingsen won the 100 Fly in a blazing state record time of 47.84! Rick Loeffelholz and the Dubuque Hempstead staff were elected the State Coaching Staff of the Year.

The Iowa High School Swim Coaches Association would like to thank Carol Hibbs, Director of the Marshalltown Community YMCA, Craig Huegel-MHS Athletic Director, and the MANY volunteers that helped put on an excellent state meet.

Mike Loupee
President – IHSSCA