2013 Girls’ State Meet Wrap Up

What a state swimming and diving weekend! The 2013 Girls’ State Meet was an exciting one! This year’s state swim meet gave swim fans three state records, six Automatic All-American swims, 15 All-American consideration swims, great time drops, and exciting races through the entire day.
The IHSSCA welcomed Hillary Mason from Cedar Falls, Whitney Wodstrchill from Cedar Rapids Jefferson, and Alan Beste of the Iowa High School Athletic Association into the Hall of Fame. Congratulations to all inductees!
The 2013 Team Title went to the Ames Little Cyclones for the fourth consecutive year. The Ames team joins elite company as only the fifth team in state history to win four consecutive team titles. Ames amassed 302 points behind Maggie James’ third consecutive diving title, their state record 200 Medley Relay (Sara Bentley, Sydney Sorenson, Grace Snyder, Katie Sailer - 1:45.50), and Sara Bentley’s championship in the 100 Backstroke. Pleasant Valley took home second with 249 points, and West Des Moines Valley was third with 182 points.    
Congratulations to Lewis Central coach Bruce Schomburg on being named Coach of the Year. Coach Schomburg’s team had fantastic time drops all day. Lewis Central took first and second place in the 100 Freestyles with Lauren Leehy and MyKenzie Leehy. The girls from Lewis Central then put an exciting cap on the day wining the 400 Freestyle Relay in a state record time of 3:29.27. The relay of Leehy, Lindsey Keltch, Harper Emswiler, Leehy took over a full second off the previous record.
Congratulations also go to sophomore Allyssa Fluit on being named the Athlete of the Year. The SE Polk swimmer won the 200 Freestyle in a state record time of 1:49.43 and then won the 500 Freestyle going 4:56.61. Bettendorf’s Maddy Burnham was the meet’s other double winner taking home gold in the 50 Freestyle and 100 Butterfly.
Thank you to the IHSGAU, the Marshalltown Community Y, and the many volunteers for another great state swimming meet. Congratulations to all competitors and coaches on a great, FAST season!
Mike Loupee
President, IHSSCA